First REAL Sourdough Loaf

22 05 2006


First REAL Sourdough Loaf

This is the first real/pure sourdough loaf I made!

Only ingredients were water and flour (and of course ‘wild yeast’ from the flour).

Because of how it spread out in the fridge, it isn’t that pretty. But it tastes wonderful, and, well… makes it so a slice is a rather light snack.

This loaf also used no recipe, just played it by ear. From here on out I’ll try to mix my own stuff and recipes. And hopefully remember to add salt in the future…


Actions

Information

2 responses

20 06 2006
Nicole

Yes, salt is important! I made some sourdough english muffins and followed a recipe that didn’t include salt. I thought it was strange but went with it. They were edible but I didn’t really enjoy them. Next time I’ll trust my instinct and add salt to everything no matter what! :-)

21 06 2006
SumisuYoshi

Yeah, taste wise it didn’t seem to be missing anything. But I think it definitely affected the density. And I’m sure that the retarding really didn’t help with it already being such an incredibly wet dough.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

