Cranberry Walnut Cinnamon Swirl

30 09 2009
Cranberry Walnut Cinnamon (supposed to be swirl) Loaf

Cranberry Walnut Cinnamon 'Swirl' Loaf

Another archival post here, I made this way back (or something like that) on August 12th.

This was a relatively easy bread to make, just a few sticking points. The dough came together fairly easily, although I think I probably incorporated a little bit too much flour when I was kneading.

Everything for Cranberry Walnut Cinnamon Loaf

All the ingredients

So with just a little bit of mixing, those turned into:

Dough for Cranberry Walnut Cinnamon Loaf

Basic dough

This is where things get sticky, getting all those walnuts and all those cranberries (I subbed them in for walnuts) into the dough! It was supposed to occur during the last 2 minutes of kneading, but it definitely took me a lot more than 2 minutes to get them in, and well and evenly incorporated. Kind of tricky to work them in while also trying to be careful not to tear the dough. However, once I managed that I ended up with:

Dough With Cranberries and Walnuts

Dough with goodies!

The next issue was the cinnamon ‘swirl’ part. I wasn’t really careful enough in the rolling up of the dough (nor did I put quite enough cinnamon sugar). And well, it ended up as less of a cinnamon swirl, and more of a cinnamon curve. A point to remember for the next time I make this bread! Whenever that may be… hopefully soon. I think next time I’ll ditch the dried fruit altogether so I can make a loaf for my dad (he doesn’t like dried fruit)

Cranberry Walnut Cinnamon (supposed to be swirl) Loaf

Not really a swirl... more of a cavern!

Bread Baker’s Apprentice Challenge
YeastSpotting


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

